Dear parents and students of room 309,

    I can't believe the school year has almost come to an end.  We still have over a month of school, but 8 months have flown by so quickly.  I love how it feels like we are one big extended family!  The end of the year will be quite tough for me because we had so many great times together.  We had fun moments, sad moments, tough moments...but overall it was all worth it!

    I want you (my students) to know that the NJASK4 only shows a very small picture of who you are as a student.  There is more to showing your progress and growth as a learner than a number on a test.  I will soon add a comment for each of you that will show the world who you really are and how you all have grown in one way or another.  I would like the world to see you as more than a number.  Give me a day or two, and I will post the great comments which show who you are as a "PERSON."  I did a voice recording in which I mentioned memorable times and how I think you have shown growth.  I will listen to these notes and add these notes to the end of this blog post.
    
    Parents, each child in this classroom has brought joy and happiness to this classroom.  They have all touched my life in a positive and rewarding way.  It has been my pleasure and privilege to watch your child's personality unfold day by day.  We learned and struggled, but best of all we laughed!  Thank you for trusting me and allowing me to experiment with fun and interesting activities.  One of the best parts of teaching this year is watching how much students learned about technology and the real world of writing.  I have enjoyed the blogging experience, and soon we will speak to other students around the world by doing a video call (skype or google hangout).  The students enjoyed people from around the world such as Australia, New Zealand, England, and Scotland reading their writing.  I hope students will continue to blog about whatever interests them.

    Students, I told you the most important part of learning is reflecting on your learning and experiences.  I want you to help me reflect on my learning.  I learned as much as I could about blogging, but I want to see what suggestions you can give me for next year about blogging.

    Do you enjoy drafting your writing on the computer and then publishing the writing for the world to read?  Maybe you can let me know how writing this way compares to writing the drafts in class (on paper) and then submitting the papers for grading.  Most teachers publish the writing by posting the writing in the hallway for other people to read.  What is your opinion about students having their own blog?  I value your opinion, and will then take your comments and decide what I should do differently next year when it is time to start blogging.  Post your comments below.

Love,
Mrs. Vilas
Kiara
5/9/2013 06:46:15 am

Dear Mrs.Vilas,
I was so touched. Thank you so much for your great teaching. I had a great time in 309. I will have trouble leaving 309 this year because I will miss you and my classmates. I hope one day I can remember you and smile because I knew you were a great teacher for 309.

Reply
Mrs. Vilas
5/9/2013 07:48:48 am

Yes, we had an awesome time and we still have plenty of time for more laughs! Soon you will read my comment about Kiara from the point of view of Mrs. Vilas.

Reply
5/9/2013 06:47:19 am

Dear Mrs.Vilas,
You touched my heart and soul I am really crying right now! You are the best teacher ever and I want you to listen to my voki on my 10 favorite thing because what I said there was true! You are also right about "We had fun moments, sad moments, tough moments...but overall it was all worth it!" Of course you are right! I just wanted you to know you are the hardest working teacher in my life! To be honest you are the best thing that happened in my life! This letter was so touching I hope to be with you today, tomorrow, and forever! Love you Mrs.Vilas! <3
Love,
Cayla

Reply
Mrs. Vilas
5/9/2013 07:50:22 am

Cayla,
I will listen to your voki. I will do it when I get home! You guys also work very hard and always listen to my suggestions. You guys were amazing today!

Reply
5/9/2013 06:48:34 am

Awwww. It has been a privilege working with you too!!!

Reply
Mrs. Vilas
5/9/2013 07:51:39 am

The many great memories Elijah! Too many funny moments, especially with you!

Reply
5/9/2013 08:21:04 am

I'll miss you!!! :(

5/9/2013 06:51:17 am

Dear Mrs. Vilas,

Thank you! Your letter was amazing! I really loved it. While I was reading your letter, you made me cry!.

Anyway, I really enjoy publishing my stories on kidblog or on weebly. When you write on a piece of paper, it's really boring! You can't add any web tool 2.0. You can't add a link and it makes it so boring! I really like typing my stories on kidblog or weebly because you get to add web tool 2.0, links, and amazing pictures!

I think that having a classroom blog next year would be awesome for your students next years because they will have fun skyping, doing interesting challenges, putting web tools 2.0 on a blog, and many more!

Thank you for writing this lovely letter!

From,
Juliana

Reply
Mrs. Vilas
5/9/2013 07:54:06 am

Jualiana,
Your love of writing is amazing! You are an inspiration to many kids. Keep up the great work. I expect to read great summer blog entries. Hmmmm....maybe I can post some blogging challenges over the summer. (Optional, of course.) Why do I always think about work?

Reply
5/10/2013 01:27:55 am

Dear Mrs. Vilas,
I would love challenges over the summer but, I know you work so hard. I think you need a break!

From,
Juliana

Isabelle
5/9/2013 07:02:33 am

Dear Mrs. Vilas,

You are so kind! I'll love sharing my opinion of students having their own blogs. I think that blogging is better than writing a narrative or essay on lined paper. When you post our writings in the hallways, only a certain number of people can see it. However, posting our writings in our own blog never limit the number of people who can see it! I love when I see on my flag counter many people from different countries visit my blog. Every student loves that! It would be great if you are able to do more activities regarding blogging with the next group!

Anyway, I love the idea of students having their own blogs rather than writing essays and narrative on paper.

Yours Truly,
Isabelle

Reply
Mrs. Vilas
5/9/2013 07:56:00 am

Isabelle,
Your blog is amazing. Everyone's weebly blog is special and unique. I agree. We can still practice essay and narrative writing on the computer. No one mentioned what you learn about other bloggers, also...

Reply
5/9/2013 07:09:42 am

Dear Mrs Vilas,
Thank you for a wonderful year! I do enjoy drafting and then publishing because overall tyhe whoe world will recognize me as the wonderful aniysah! My opinion is that it's awsome for students like me to have their own blogs, because of your suggestions the students sure enough will become better writers :)
From (Your Happy Student),
Aniysah

Reply
Mrs. Vilas
5/9/2013 07:57:29 am

Aniysah,
The world will love the wonderful Aniysah who makes her family proud. I love to see how much you all have grown by reading your blog posts.

Reply
Ghislane
5/9/2013 07:10:02 am

Dear Mrs.Vilas,
Thank you for a great year and I do enjoy doing blogs it is the greatest thing and know the whole world could go visit my blog all because of you and I do think you should keep on edoing this and knw You had mad everybody a bette writter thank you

Reply
Mrs. Vilas
5/9/2013 07:59:18 am

Ghislane,
I am glad you enjoyed it very much. I love reading such interesting posts! We learned so much about writing through blogs. Plus, the feedback you receive can influence you as a writer.

Reply
Janiece
5/9/2013 07:18:18 am

Dear Mrs.Vilas,
That was sweet of you to say that,I am crying right now...... I do enjoy drafting my writing on the computer and then publishing the writing for the world to read. I think having a blog is better because when you have awesome writing and you do it on paper and put it in the hall way,only students in that school can see it and not the world but if you have a blog,you can post that awesome writing for the world to see! That's why I think having a blog is better.
Love,
Janiece

Reply
Mrs. Vilas
5/9/2013 08:01:04 am

Janiece,
It is amazing when kids and adults from different parts of the world and the US can read your writing. It is interesting to compare the learning and culture from one area to another area!

Reply
5/9/2013 07:22:04 am

I think it is great that students have their own blog. This means they could express themselves not only by words but stories on the computer. Students can have a great time writing about what they think or have interest into. Also I think it is great students have their own blog because they could interact with other kids around the world.

Reply
Mrs. Vilas
5/9/2013 08:02:27 am

Yes, it is fun interacting with other children and having quad blog pals. I really enjoyed the 12 week challenge!

Reply
5/9/2013 10:14:27 am

That was touching. I really like you as a teacher and you did alot for me. I think it's a good idea for the world to see peoples writing because you wont just get your classmates and teacher point of view but you would also get suggestions. My opinion about kids having their own blog is that they should because, they can express their writing with other people than their lassmates

Reply
Mrs. Vilas
5/9/2013 11:48:14 am

Thanks Shinae. You are too sweet! Having your own blog is great because you can express yourself and see what others think. It is a way to have interesting conversations with other people.

Reply
Mrs. Osei-Yaw
5/9/2013 12:18:09 pm

Keep up the great work 309! Continue to think outside of the box and excel in all that you do. I'm so proud of you!

Reply
5/10/2013 01:26:02 am

Dear, Mrs Vilas,
I think blogging is excellent and I like it very much! I never got to do class room blogs in my old school! I got to hand it to you mrs vilas, you are a very AWESOME TEACHER that I have ever had! and we got to make our very own website on weebly! Also, we get to put lots of things in our sidebars! Thank you!
From, The Awesome Lawrence

Reply
Ghislane
5/10/2013 01:26:58 am

Thank you Mrs.Osei-Yaw for what you said but I give all the credit to Mrs.Vilas she is awesome like you Mrs.Osei-Yaw and Mr.Murphy.

Reply
Angelika
5/10/2013 01:27:44 am

Dear Mrs.Vilas,
It was so touching I waant to cry. I am going to read this everyday when I am in other classes.I love the things you do and I know you love our hard work.
Love,
Angelika. <3

Reply
Alexander
5/10/2013 01:28:34 am

Mrs.Vilas we did have a great time this year. You are the best teacher in the work and you so hard. The whole class will miss you. Also you are a great writer. Have a great summer!

Reply
Davie
5/10/2013 01:29:09 am

We surely had some awesome times together. Once the NJ.ASK is over and were going to have to depart. Thank you for all you've done.

Reply
Antonio
5/10/2013 01:29:26 am

Dear Mrs. Vilas
I had a great year with you we had some problems some up and downs but it was pretty fun this year you are the funniest beautiful and wonderful teacher and thank you for giving your all and teaching me and us and taking the time to just give us the things you gave us and I think you for that you are the best teacher I ever had.

Reply
Erica
5/10/2013 01:32:30 am

I am so touched right now. You are the best teacher ever. But it is good for students to have a blog. Well because with a blog you can express yourself and let out anything you want to say.

Reply
Antonio
5/10/2013 01:37:17 am

Dear Mrs. Vilas,
I think you are one of the toughest hard working women. Mrs. Vilas you touch me right now I want to cry right now.

Reply
Eileen
5/10/2013 01:45:59 am

Dear Mrs. Vilas

You make feel like I want to cry. You really touch my heart. I feel like we are one big happy family seperating. Blogging makes me feel happy instead of face to face.
From,
Eileen

Reply
Dayanara
5/10/2013 01:46:02 am

Dear Mrs. Vilas ,
Thank you, you are the best teacher ever,not that the other teachers aren't cool but Mrs vilas is the best in the whole entire world. Thank you again. I think it is great because everybody from all around the world can read blog post others wrote. It is fantastic thank you.

Reply
5/10/2013 01:15:33 pm

G'day Mrs Vilas and students,
Thank you all for taking part in the March student blogging challenge. In reading your comments, I noticed mention of blogging challenges over summer. Why not try the following website and this will allow Mrs Vilas to also enjoy her vacation time.
http://100wc.net/ They have a new prompt each week and you can only use 100 words.
http://stempic.wordpress.com/ This teacher posts images and discussion points

Reply
5/11/2013 04:12:28 am

Dear Miss W,
Thank you for sharing the website with us. I will check out the website every week in the summer.

From,
Juliana

Reply
5/12/2013 05:45:13 am

Dear Mrs.Vilas I think your blog is absolutely fabulous just like you I think I would go with the second choice because many students are good writers but have a hard time writing a specific topic. Well actually I think I agree with both now because I just remembered you like challenges so it can be challenging for a kid to write about a topic

Reply
5/12/2013 10:45:47 am

Dear Mrs.Vilas,
I think what you said was very touching.While I was reading it I almost cried.
Also, I think your idea to have a class blog was brilliant. I like it because it allows me to know what to work on in my writing through my readers comments. They tell what I need to improve.
From,Asha

Reply
Dorian
5/15/2013 09:07:39 am

Dear Mrs. Vilas,
That was very nice. You are my favorite teacher. You do a lot to help us so we would be prepared for the NJ ask. I like really liked the class blog. It helps you get better at writing.
From Dorian

Reply
12/18/2013 10:08:26 pm

nice job writing a story

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.